SafeCert Level 3 Award in Supervising Health and Safety in the Workplace (RQF)

We at SafeCert Awards provide the accreditation service through our awarding body to provide our accredited trainers and accredited centres a range of Health and Safety Award including this SafeCert Level 3 Award in Supervising Health and Safety in the Workplace (RQF) qualification.

Qualification Details

This SafeCert Level 3 Award in Supervising Health and Safety in the Workplace (RQF) qualification is aimed at supervisors or managers in the workplace.  The award has 5 learning outcomes as follows:

  1. Understand the requirements for health, safety and welfare in the workplace
    • Outline the main legal framework and laws relating to health and safety at work
    • Outline the welfare provisions that should be made by the employer
    • Describe the sources and nature of information that demonstrate compliance and best practice with health and safety requirements
    • Outline ways that health and safety information can be communicated
    • Define the terms ‘incident’, ‘accident’ and ‘occupational ill health’
    • Describe the main causes of injuries and ill health at work
  2. Understand the benefits of using a safety management system
    • Outline the costs associated with accidents and ill health
    • Summarise the typical elements of a safety management system
    • Outline the benefits of using a safety management system
  3. Understand the principles of risk assessment
    • Outline the benefits of assessing and controlling risks at work
    • Describe the different types of risks assessment that can be used
    • State where specific risk assessments may be required
    • State the steps to be taken to complete a simple risk assessment
  4. Understand the risks and control methods for common workplace hazards
    • Explain how the risks from different hazards may be affected by occupational, environmental, human and organizational factors
    • Explain how injuries, ill health and other damage may result following exposure to common workplace hazards
    • Identify suitable risk control measures using the principles of the hierarchy of control
  5. Understand how to manage the effects of accidents and incidents
    • Describe the actions that need to be taken following an accident or incident in the workplace
    • Describe how simple accident investigation techniques can reveal immediate and root causes

This award is usually completed in minimum of 18 hours teaching and has one unit. The qualification is assessed for their practical skills as well as their knowledge in the form of a multiple choice question paper.